Megan Do

Top 10 Most Epic Performances on Glee

Posted in Music, TV by Megan Do on June 9, 2010

With the end of Season 1 of Glee, “Gleeks” everywhere, including me, are now unsure of what to do Tuesday nights 9/8c. To ease the panic and anticipation of waiting for the release of the Season 1 DVDs on September 14 and the start of Season 2, FOX will be airing reruns on Thursday nights all summer long. Thanks, FOX.

To celebrate the end of my favorite TV show’s first season, I give you…

My Top 10 Most Epic Performances on Glee:

10. A Man’s Man’s Man’s World

Although it was slightly awkward to watch a group of pregnant women dance and provide back up vocals, Quinn finally got a chance to showcase her voice and I loved every second of it. Well, not the part where they incorporate lamaze breathing into the song. That was a little much.

9. Open Your Heart/Borderline

This is the first of many Madonna covers on this list. “The Power of Madonna” episode has to be one of my favorite episodes of the season and this duet is one of the reasons why. I’m not lying when I tell you that it was my ringtone for a month.

8. Jump

This whole performance was entertaining and fun. Using mattresses as trampolines and performing in your PJs. Who wouldn’t like this?

7. Dream On

I like Will Schuester, I really do but for the sake of Gleeks everywhere, please stop rapping. I enjoy Mr. Schuester much more when he’s belting out songs like “Dream On” by Aerosmith with his “smooth as butter” voice with Neil Patrick Harris. This was epic.

6. Like a Virgin

When Glee announced that they were doing a “Power of Madonna” episode, fans knew a cover of “Like a Virgin” was going to happen. But who? Rachel and Jesse? Mr. Schuester and Emma? Finn and Santana/Brittany? HOW ABOUT ALL THREE? God, it was so incredibly good.

5. Bad Romance

Do I really even need to explain why this performance was epic? I mean, look at the picture above. The costumes were freakin’ incredible. The entire show was about “theatricality” and they nailed it.

4. U Can’t Touch This

When brainstorming how to earn a “bad reputation” at school, the poor Glee kids decided to perform “U Can’t Touch This” in the library in bright colored parachute pants and all the right moves (seriously, just watch Brittany). It was hysterical and left me laughing uncontrollably. I probably watched this clip of the episode 20 times the next day.

3. A House is Not a Home

This was probably one of the most emotional performances of the season. Everything Kurt does is emotional but this put me over the edge. You wouldn’t think Kurt Hummel covering a Luther Vandross song would work but it did. It was amazing to watch. My love for Kurt grows with each episode and quite honestly, I think he’s one of the best characters on primetime television right now.

2. Faithfully/Any Way You Want It/Lovin’ Touchin’ Squeezin’

This was it. This was the moment fans had been waiting for all season. Would WMHS Glee Club place at Regionals? Finn and Rachel’s performance of “Faithfully” left me with goosebumps and their renditions of “Any Way You Want It” and “Lovin’ Touchin’ Squeezin'” showed you they actually had a chance of winning and how far they had come from the Pilot.

1. Don’t Stop Believin’ (Pilot)

And this is how it all began. In May, I downloaded the free episode on iTunes and instantly fell in love. To help pass the four months until the show premiered in September, I watched this performance of “Don’t Stop Believin” over and over and over again. I’d never seen or heard anything like it. The pilot episode introduces you to characters who are insecure and trying to find acceptance and in the last five minutes when they’re performing this song, you realize that this glee club is their chance at gaining confidence and learning who they really are. All cheesiness aside, this was the moment I fell in love with this show.

Whew! That took a lot out of me. Until next season…

-Megan

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ellen Hernly said, on June 11, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    You just reminded me that Finn lost his virginity to Santana and then lied. I can see this raising some serious issues next season when he and Rachel sort out the L word and all that’s in between.

  2. Bea said, on June 23, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Scrolling through this list made me so happy!


Leave a Reply

