Megan Do

2010

Posted in Advertising, Friends, Life, Personal, Ramblings, School, Social Media, Uncategorized by Megan Do on December 30, 2010

Every year, I like to look back and remember the memorable things I did that year. 2010 was definitely one of the most memorable years I’ve had. I did a lot of cool things, grew up a lot and met some great people.  With graduation and new job opportunities, I’m excited to see what 2011 brings.

1. Internship in Atlanta

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After obsessively applying and interviewing for 20+ internships, I found myself at BBDO Atlanta in Atlanta, Georgia and it honestly was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. I learned so much as in account management intern and got to work with the coolest group of interns ever (DTPATT!). Going to work was never an issue because I had a blast every single day. And after spending three months in Atlanta, I fell head over heels in love with the city–the culture, style, history, everything.

2. Chicago


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Living on my own for three months in a big city and returning to Kansas was difficult so the second I was back, I started planning a Labor Day weekend trip to Chicago with a few close friends. I’d never been before and needed to be back in that big city environment. It was a short and sweet weekend full of adventure, laughs, sightseeing and delicious food.

3. 1,000 followers on Twitter


 

 

 

Before you judge me, I take my social media presence very seriously. Why use social media when what you’re saying doesn’t make a difference and isn’t being heard? After a conversation with a mentor, I realized that I needed to grow up and start using Twitter correctly. That meant more retweeting, sharing links, following interesting people and tweeting about more relevant things. I guess what I’m tweeting is interesting because I’m at 1,000+ followers. 1,000+ followers. Seriously unreal.

4. Campaigns


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since my first year at KU, I heard about the capstone advertising class called Strategic Campaigns, where a team of students is given a budget to create a marketing campaign for a real-life client. And since my first semester of junior year, I’d been dreaming of putting together the perfect team. This past semester, I enrolled in the class, helped put together the Dream Team and kicked some major ass by winning the account. It was seriously one of the most rewarding experiences I’ve had. I loved my team, I loved our ideas and I honestly miss spending every waking hour with them. Mark my words, in 10-15 years when we’re all tired of our jobs, we’re starting an agency.

5. Turned 21


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For a year, when I logged into my iGoogle homepage, I would see a countdown to my 21st birthday. The night finally came one of my last nights in Atlanta and my aunt and uncle dragged me to a dark, Irish pub to celebrate with  pints of Strongbow and Guinness and a shot called the Lindsey Lohan. Turning 21 was a blast and I have to say that my social life has improved massive amounts since. I’m trying to enjoy every second of it before 22 hits.

 

-Megan

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Meghan Lee said, on December 30, 2010 at 2:11 am

    Yay 2010. Not a shabby year for you, girl! If you want to add Sarasota, FL as part of your 2011 blogpost, you are always welcome.

  2. lacienciacohete said, on December 30, 2010 at 2:15 am

    I love this. Mazel Tov!


Leave a Reply

